FAW Women’s Cup qualifying draw

The draw for the qualifying round of this year’s Football Association of Wales Women’s Cup has been made in Cardiff this week. It saw just eight teams drawn out of the hat (two from the northern section of the draw, and six from the south), with the remaining 28 entrants receiving a bye to the first round proper.

The sole northern section tie matched Kinmel Bay with Bangor City. Kinmel Bay entered the competition at the first round last year, where they were defeated 4-0 at home to the WPWL’s Aberystwyth Town, while Bangor City are making their first appearance in the competition.

The three ties in the southern section are Merthyr Town v Rhiwbina, Cwmbran Celtic v Splott Albion and Llangyfelach v Abertillery Belles.

Merthyr didn’t take part in last year’s competition, but their last appearance, during the 2015/16 season, saw them beaten 6-1 at home by Camrose in the first round. Their opponents this season, Rhiwbina, were knocked out at the qualifying stage last season when they lost 4-2 to Cwmbran Celtic.

Following that victory over Rhiwbina, Cwmbran Celtic went on to lose 2-0 to Llangyfelach in the first round proper. This year they will be facing cup debutantes Splott Albion.

Abertillery Belles lost 5-2 to Pontypridd Town in the first round proper of last year’s competition, and this time around they will travel to Llangyfelach, who were the most successful of any of these teams in 2016/17, making it as far as the second round. Their progress in the competition was eventually halted by Briton Ferry Llansawel of the WPWL, who inflicted a 6-0 defeat on the West Wales Women & Girls’ League champions.

The draw

  • Kinmel BayBangor City
  • Merthyr Town v Rhiwbina
  • Cwmbran Celtic v Splott Albion
  • Llangyfelach v Abertillery Belles

Byes to the first round

  • Aberdare Town
  • Abergavenny
  • Aberystwyth Town
  • Airbus
  • Amlwch Town
  • Barry Town United
  • Bethel
  • Briton Ferry Llansawel
  • Caernarfon Town
  • Caerphilly Castle
  • Caldicot Town
  • Cardiff City
  • Cardiff Met
  • Cascade
  • Cyncoed
  • Dafen Welfare
  • Denbigh
  • Llandudno
  • Llanfair United
  • Newcastle Emlyn
  • Northop Hall
  • Penrhyncoch
  • Penybont
  • Pontypridd
  • Port Talbot
  • Rhyl
  • Swansea City
  • Tredegar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s